Friday, January 15, 2010

The ASO on GPB - 2010 Broadcast Season

Georgia Public Broadcasting is once again proud to broadcast Atlanta Symphony Orchestra concerts. Performances from the orchestra's 2009-2010 season air from March to August 2010 on GPB Radio. (The series of 26 broadcasts will rerun starting in September.) Alongside great music recorded live in Atlanta's Symphony Hall, you'll hear host Sarah Zaslaw in conversation about the music with the conductors and soloists. Tune in for The ASO on GPB Thursday evenings at 9:00, repeating Sunday nights at 10:00.

March 4 and 7
  • Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 3 with Garrick Ohlsson
  • Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6, "Pathetique"
  • Robert Spano conducts
March 11 and 14
  • Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition (in Ravel's orchestration)
  • World premiere of Dejan Lazic's arrangement of the Brahms Violin Concerto for piano and orchestra, with Dejan Lazic as soloist
  • Robert Spano conducts
March 18 and 21
  • Yo-Yo Ma soloes in Angel Lam's narrated cello concerto Awakening from a Disappearing Garden
  • Stravinsky's Nightingale
  • Robert Spano conducts
March 25 and 28
  • James Ehnes is soloist in Korngold's Violin Concerto
  • Weber's Overture to Oberon
  • Strauss's Thus Spake Zarathustra
  • Donald Runnicles conducts